Skip to content

Board Meeting Minutes for March 25th, 2002

Quarterly Meeting Minutes

March 25, 2002


Present: Board and officers: Linda Pilcher, Marc Wells, Melanie Schaber, David Schaber, Andrew Nesbit, Lea Rush, David Levine, John Bartley, Roger Wells, John Williamson, Aaron Curtis, Lacey Axmaker, Stuart Axmaker, Jim Fiscus, and Sam Justice.


The meeting was called to order at 7:35 pm by President Linda Pilcher.



Minutes of previous meeting were accepted without correction.


Treasurer's Report :

James Wilsonsage was not present at the meeting.



Convention Reports:


Orycon 23:

     Regress Reports have been sent out. Helen is finishing the books, and should have them closed by the July meeting.


Orycon 24:

     The Exec committee decided to try something different and not have a Masqurade.

Registration sits at 358

Lea Reports that there is approx. $9800 in the account.


Gamestorm 2002:

          Convention did very well. 291 members attended.

It looks like there will be a sizable surplus.

The Treasurer quit (He had a problem with Gamestorm spending a portion of their surplus on gaming supplies), and Wendy Kieth will close the books.

A motion to negotiate for a 2 year contract with the hotel was proposed and passed.

Sam asked if there were problems with the large number of under-18 year olds. There were none.


     Gamestorm 2003:

Everything is going well so far. Pre-registration sits at 76 members.

We plan on adjusting our budget for the large amount of pre-reg.


Left Coast Crime:

There were plenty of at the door memberships. Many people involved with Orycon came in over the weekend to volunteer where needed.


Andrew asked if we might do LCC again. Possible but not likely.



Westercon 54:

No Report.



Funds and Awards:


     Susan C. Petrey Clarion Scholarship Fund:

     No report.



Clayton Memorial Medical Fund:

   To date, no one has asked for money. Was pointed out that Jon Gustufson was ill and may be eligible.



Endeavour Award:

This year we have a very strong field. 31 or 32 books submitted.

Are planning to send flyers to Norwescon, thanking them for their contribution.



Other Continuing Business:


     Subcommittees reports:


         No Reports



Gail Butler:

Asked if Gail Butler’s art disk had been returned to her. Linda will find out if Kristy or Jay has found the disk yet. Lacey will call Gail and get an estimate of how much it will cost to replace the disk.


New Business:


     Art Panels:

     Andrew motioned we loan the panels. Motion was passed.

Lea will arrange pick-up and return.


ConJose asked to borrow the panels for Worldcon. After much discussion, it was decided that we didn’t have enough information to make a decision.


Other business:


Motion was made to grant Sam Butler membership to any event he wants to attend for all the work he has done for us over the years. Motion passed.


Bid Proposal:

Patty Wells submitted a bid to chair Orycon 25. Motion to accept proposal passed.



Meeting adjourned at 8:40





The Clayton Memorial Medical Fund
Report to the OSFCI Board
May 20, 2002



History of the Fund:

The Clayton Memorial Medical Fund was founded in 1996 as the Oregon Science Fiction Emergency Fund to help science fiction and fantasy writers deal with medical emergencies. OSFCI created the fund in response to the illness of Portland author Jo Clayton. The Fund's Board of Trustees worked with Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) and Jo Clayton's fans to raise money to help Jo and other writers. Harlan Ellison reported on our plea for funding during his Sci Fi Channel (cable TV) show. The combined publicity, especially Mr. Ellison's mention of the Fund, brought in donations from across the nation.


The Clayton Fund helps professional science fiction and fantasy writers living in the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, and Alaska) deal with the financial burdens of medical emergencies. Authors in need of help contact the Clayton Fund Board of Trustees. The Trustees evaluate the situation and the documentation provided and decide how much money the Fund can give. The money is in the form of a gift, not a loan. We do not plan to start a fund raising campaign at this time, but remain open for donations. Should we face an emergency akin to the long-term assistance needed by Jo Clayton, we will have to undertake a major fund raising campaign.


Board of Trustees:

Trustees are appointed by the OSFCI Board. At least one Trustee must be a member of the OSFCI Board. Board of Trustees, May 2002: James W. Fiscus, Chairman; Page Fuller, Treasurer; Marc Wells, OSFCI Board Member; and Geri Jeter.


Financial History and Report for Fiscal Year Ending December 31, 2001:


Year Credit Debit Recipients
1996 $ 17,728.00 $ 2,544.00 1
1997 4,486.00 8,180.00 1
1998 947.00 4,278.00 2
1999 1,266.00 1,000.00 1
2000 1,259.00 5,000.00 1
2001 4,815.00 419.00  
  Balance, December 31, 2001: $ 8,080.00


The Endeavour Award
Report to the OSFCI Board
May 20, 2002



History and Nature of the Award:

Many of the best science fiction and fantasy writers in North America live in the Pacific Northwest. The Endeavour Award was funded by Portland-area writers and readers of science fiction and fantasy in 1996 and chartered by OSFCI. The Award honors the authors of distinguished science fiction or fantasy books, either novels or a single-author collections of stories, created by writers living and working in the Pacific Northwest. (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, British Columbia, The Yukon, and Alaska.) The Award first was presented in 1999 and is presented at OryCon for books published during the previous year.


The Award is dedicated to helping science fiction and fantasy writers living in the Pacific Northwest produce the best literature in the field. We seek to encourage new writers and bring new readers to books created in the Pacific Northwest. We do this through grants to finalists and winners and by recognizing and publicizing science fiction and fantasy written by Pacific Northwest authors. Beginning at the 2001 OryCon, we expanded our activity to encourage new science fiction and fantasy writers by involving Award finalists in writers workshops.

Award Entries: 1999 = 24 2000 = 25 2001 = 28 2002 = 31



The Endeavour Committee

Committee members are nominated by members of the committee or by members of the OSFCI board and elected to three-year terms by the Administrative Committee. The names of new committee members are submitted to the OSFCI Board for ratification at its next regular meeting. Current member: James W. Fiscus, Chairman; Page Fuller, Treasurer; Michael Coney; Marilyn J. Holt; Mary Rosenblum; and Sheila Simonson.


Financial History and Report for Fiscal Year Ending December 31, 2001:

Our funding is based on contributions and we are actively seeking money through grant applications to foundations, companies, and individuals.


Year Credit Debit

Award Recipient

1996-1998 $   121.00 $   121.00    
1999 1,191.00 1,191.00   Greg Bear
2000 1,520.00 1,338.00   Greg Bear
2001 1,283.00 1,395.00   Ursula K. LeGuin and Louise Marley
Balance, December 31, 2001 $ 152.00  


Submitted for the Endeavour Award Committee,

Page Fuller, Treasurer

James W. Fiscus, Chairman