...for a distinguished SCIENCE FICTION or FANTASY BOOK written by a Pacific Northwest author or authors and published in the previous year.

The award represents a collaboration between writers and fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy to encourage the growth of literature in the field and recognize works of excellence. It is named for H.M. Bark Endeavour, the ship of Northwest explorer Capt. James Cook.

The award is announced annually at OryCon, held in Portland, Oregon. The award is accompanied by a grant of $1,000.


The Endeavour Award has named the winner for books published in 2021! A panel of judges selected the winner, which was presented at Norwescon 45, held April 6-9, 2023 in SeaTac, Washington at the DoubleTree Hotel.

How to Get to Apocalypse by Erica L. Satifka (Fairwood Press)

The winner received a $1000 grant and an etched glass plaque
produced by Kent, Washington, artist Ashley J. Harper


Calculated Risks by Seanan McGuire (Daw)
On Fragile Waves by E. Lily Yu (Erewhon Books)
Jade Legacy by Fonda Lee (Orbit)
Blood of the Chosen by Django Wexler (Orbit)


Fran Wilde
Andy Duncan
Catherine Asaro

In combined remarks, the judges said: "We are delighted to help shine an eerie phantasmagorical glow of regard onto a book of such spiky originality as this. Satifka's How To Get to Apocalypse and Other Disasters is a fractal triumph that works on every level, from individual sentences and stories to the splendidly counterintuitive jigsaw of the whole. Rather than forming a seamless sameness, they constitute a fully interlocking kaleidoscope of moods and modes. These 23 stories take a gorgeously broad view of the genre, jacking especially into the cyberpunk mainframe, while exploring 21st-century concerns in language that raises a shower of sparks on every page. One juror compared this book to classic collections by Avram Davidson and R.A. Lafferty, which is the same as saying it's basically incomparable; another juror summed up by saying, simply: 'I'm very impressed.' We also must honor the chutzpah of a book that identifies all the stories therein as disastrous."


The Endeavour Award is now open for submissions for books published in 2022!

We require submitted books in electronic form (5 copies if they are copy protected), which will be shared with our preliminary readers. We can also accept NetGalley links. No physical copies will be accepted.

The entry form can be downloaded here: https://osfci.org/endeavour/entryform.pdf.

The preliminary readers will use a grading system to select a list of finalists. A trio of judges to be announced will select a winner from these finalists.

Please send completed entry forms and submissions to Jim Kling at jkling@gmail.com. Deadline for submissions is May 31, 2023.

Since 1999, The Endeavour Award has recognized science fiction or fantasy works of 40,000 words or more, or single-author collections of short fiction. The author(s) must have had legal or physical residence in the Pacific Northwest (Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, The Yukon, and British Columbia) when the publisher accepted the book, and must affirm that they wrote the majority of the book while living in the Pacific Northwest. The books must have been published in the United States or in Canada with a copyright date in 2022.

General questions should be sent to Marilyn Holt at Writer@Holtcapital.com.

Questions regarding submissions should be sent to Jim Kling at jkling@gmail.com.

We also need preliminary readers! If you’re interested, contact Jim Kling at jkling@gmail.com.

Erica L. Satifka accepts the 2021 Endeavour Award for her book How to Get to Apocalypse at Norwescon in 2023.